SPLICING IT UP & THE DEATH OF A BIRD…

The result of Sarah Polly & Adrien Brody Mucking About...

Saw the new “horror” flick, SPLICE, today. I know it has received rather mixed reviews, but I found it incredibly interesting and provocative. Not really much subtext – this film is an all-out assault against the suspicious ethics around DNA testing and further darkly humorous twisted exploration of child abuse, responsibilities of family life and the morally inappropriate. A big old celluloid ball of fire. I really thought it worthy viewing — tho, certainly not for all tastes. Not sure if it will actually find an audience. I suspect it goes way too far for the average sci-fi fan and has way too much sci-fi for the average art-house cinema junky. But, I liked it and found the special effects particularly effective.

After my viewing of this disturbing movie I had just enough money to grab a cup of coffee. And, I came face to face with one of the things I fear most: birds. Yes, I am a-scared of birds. Always have been. And, not because of that silly 60’s movie — but just because of the way they move about. Creeps me out. I remember feeling rather validated when I saw JURASIC PARK and the correlation between flesh-eating dinasours and birds was made. No wonder they creep me out.
Anyway, this experience triggered a protective instinct in me and made me feel a great deal of empathy/sympathy for this poor bird.

I walked into this random coffee shop. The door was open. I got my coffee and a bird flew in and was so freaked out. It kept trying to get out of the shop but continuously flew into the windows not finding the door into which it had flown. So, instinctively, I attempted to coo and attract the bird to lead it to the door. It almost worked, but then the bird suddenly threw itself into some sort of mad panic. It flew away from the way out and to the back of the shop to the register. Upon being shu’d away from the counter it zoomed forward — and crashed into a window breaking its neck. The bird died.

…talk about put me off my coffee. Made me sad.

June 14, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. Rick replied:

    Oh the poor bird…I hate to see stuff like that.

  2. susanne replied:

    what a crazy story. i got two budgies and i love them. they are just cute. but their flying in my room makes me a bit nervous sometimes too… 😉

  3. brand new woo replied:

    I want to see Splice, i like Sarah Polley and that’s the main reason!

    As for birds, well it’s crow-nesting time around here, which means I walked down the street the other morning and got attacked by a crow. It happens to me at least once a year. I avoid that street for the next few weeks for risk of looking stupid running from a swooping angry crow.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

