GOLDFRAPP BRINGS BACK THE GLITTER!

GOLDFRAPP's Head First

Finally! The new Goldfrapp has arrived! While perhaps not as “artistic” as their last release, SEVENTH TREE, this new CD is more the Goldfrapp that I love. Electronica with heart, lust and plenty of magical beats to both make my feet and brain move.

There is a very strong undercurrent of Moroder-ish 80’s vibe and even a bit of Laurie Anderson inspired voice sampling. But, most importantly — there is much musical glitter that makes Goldfrapp shine!

It is a sunny day in a year that, for me, seems to be filled with the darkest of challenges and this music is the perfect pick-me-up. I just got back from the ocean. I sat on the sand watching the waves roll in, letting the sun shine down on me, the cool ocean breeze enveloping me and Goldfrapp spinning musical glitter in my ears. A perfect moment at the beach.

I just wish the new album were longer, but I’m sure more remixes will be on the way! I wait with anticipation!

“oh oh oh i got a rocket
oh oh oh you’re going on it
you’re never coming back…”

March 23, 2010. Tags: , , , , . Uncategorized.

9 Comments

  1. anita replied:

    Glad you had that perfect moment. I have had a few in my life, and I still remember all of them I think. And you know how bad my memory is. Many of them involve you and things you did and said. Come see me! love Anita

  2. Susanne replied:

    I wish you more of these perfect moments. I don’t know you but i think, you deserve them! 🙂

    Honestly, i love their last record a little bit more, i’m just a little ‘folky’ girl. 😉

    But if you love the new Goldfrapp you should have a listen to the new record from THE BIRD AND THE BEE “Interpreting the masters volume 1: a tribute of Daryl Hall and John Oates”. PLEASE, check them out!!! It’s full with glitter too, it makes you smile and move your feet. Here in Germany, spring arrived too and yesterday, i was sitting in the sun with some good chinese food and their music in my ears – PERFECT! 😀

    lovely greetings from germany,
    Susanne & Frodo

  3. matty03 replied:

    Anita! Thanks! love and kisses, matty

  4. matty03 replied:

    Susanne & Frodo! Thank you! And, happy moments to you as well! Yes, SEVENTH TREE is more artistic, but give me Goldfrapp Glitter! I LOVE The Bird & The Bee! I’ve been grooving to the Hall & Oates covers for about a week now! They rock and glitter! I sent my brother an iTunes gift of their cover of “Maneater” because that was his fave song when he was about 5 or 6.

    love and kisses from a very sunny day in GayTown,
    matty

  5. Old Cheeser replied:

    Hey Matty!

    So sorry I haven’t stopped by much of late … hope you’re bearing up! Oddly enough as I type this I’m listening to the very same Mistress of Goldfrappia album – just downloaded it and am giving it a first listen. I have to say I was distinctly underwhelmed by “Rocket” – yes I love the Van Halen style synths and it’s got a bouncy and poppy style, but I just find the tune distinctly average … however, on first play, several of the other album tracks sound a lot more promising – I’m particularly taken with the closer “Voicething” with its dreamy, phased vocals(I take it this is the Laurie Anderson-type track you are referring to – yes, it’s very reminiscent of “O Superman”…) I agree that “Seventh Tree” has a “deeper”, more artsy feel to it which in some ways I prefer, but then as a fan of retro, pop, 80s and disco I ought to give this one a chance too…! Goldfrapp is always welcome music to one’s ears!

    And talking of ears, yours would have been burning last night, as your name came up in the conversation several times! I met up with blogger Alan (A Brand New Woo!) who was over in the UK for the very first time on a visit! And a very lovely guy he is too! We went out for drinks in Soho (the gay area in London) and talked about all things cultural and blogging etc, and naturally your name was mentioned! Who knows, maybe ONE day I will get my butt over to the States and Canada …

    Take care
    OC x

  6. matty03 replied:

    Cool Old Cheeser — who is neither old or cheezy, I would so love to meet you (and Mr. Woo!) I do get to Canada from time to time but I think Toronto is like on the other side from where he lives. …big country, that Canada! And, Of course I’m dying to see the UK. My worry is that I will simply refuse to leave once off the plane.

    You must come to visit GayTown!

    I’m really loving the new Goldfrapp — much more like the frapp I first fell in love with! And, I too, love the more electronica/darker edge’d music of the 80’s — this new album by Goldfrapp is very Euro-disco ala Georgio and Ceronne (sp?) — both of whom I love!

  7. Old Cheeser replied:

    I’m thinking of doing a US trip this Summer, if I can manage it … and a trip to Frisco if poss! It’s about bloody time … will keep you posted!

    By the wat talking of artistes like Giorgio Moroder and Cerrone, I stumbled on another Facebook person called “Disco Discharge” who has also produced lots of disco-europop type compilations with the very same kind of music on! Go search for him on F-book, he’s into some great stuff, and you can track the albums down on Amazon …

  8. brand new woo replied:

    What’s your favourite track? Mine is I Wanna Life !

  9. matty replied:

    Old Cheeser!!!! YES! Come to GayTown!!!!!!!

    Alan — I think my fave tracks would be a toss up between HUNT and VOICE THING. …but I do love ALIVE. Actually, I like all the tracks.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

