BYRON B KIM & OPEN STUDIO WEEKEND!

-4

Untitled Sculpture by Byron B Kim

Several months ago, my hubby decided to devote more time to his true love: pursuit of his artistic drive. We are quite blessed to live in San Francisco which is filled with a wide variety of options for artist’s studios. We visited just about all of them, but The Islais Creek studios really seemed a great fit for Byron. This gallery of artists is varied, open, unpretentious and creativity flows with a sort of genuine friendliness that just felt right.

As Byron is a professional architect, his work projects a strong architectural structure, theme and feel. I’ve always found it quite interesting to watch Byron as he approaches a professional project. Very often, when he is about to design a project, space or building — he will start by taking a hike in the mountains or on the beach to collect objects which inspire him or resonate the concepts, surfaces, function and general aesthetic of the project. He brings them back and begins to carefully construct a sculpture that goes well beyond that of an architectural model. He actually constructs a piece of art which then takes him to the functional level of the architectural process: blue prints, CAD, design, etc.  As a person who knows a limited amount about architecture, the resulting projects or designs or buildings seldom seem connected to the original sculpture which sent him out on his professional mission. Equally interesting to me, is that Byron often finds it odd that I don’t see or “feel” the connections between these sculptures and his designs.

-5

Sculpture by Byron B Kim

But the power of the sculptures and drawings is often staggering to me.

Everything about his pieces seems to be constructed of sharp, industrial, organic and metal objects. A quick glance and I start to think of “edge” but once I look at any of his pieces I almost immediately begin to feel a sensual and quite beautifully soft elegance leaking out of connected bits that, on their own, hold no emotional appeal. I find myself wanting to touch this work. Several of Byron’s pieces have, for me, a strong sexual or erotic vibe that I am unable to articulate. Byron’s sculptures pull me in and fill me with a passionate sense of the true sensual.

So, I was thrilled when he decided to devote more of his personal time to the creation of his art.

This past weekend was his first ever Open Studio. It was held as a part of the Bay Area SFArtSpan Fall Open Studios 2009. Last weekend included The Islais Creek Studios. He intended this Open Studio to be a sort of “dry run” — so that he could perhaps get a feel for some unbiased feedback, chat more with the other artists at Islais Creek and determine how he should best approach the next phase of his artistic career. He had not yet finished his website and it is still not activated to ‘live’, his art card is a temporary one and he only had two days to establish his presentation. I was confident he would receive positive feedback. I’m not so sure he was.

-3

Sculpture by Byron B Kim

The feedback surprised us both.

Not only was it quite positive — from the very beginning last Friday night individuals were asking Byron for a price list and were wanting to purchase pieces. Byron had not yet even gotten to the point of formulating the cost of his work. He is working on that now. And, I know that the SFArtSpan Spring Open Studios 2010 will allow him to fully present and show his work as he desires. The real work is just beginning — his website must go live, unfinished and unstarted pieces must now move forward and cards must be printed. However, as he approaches this new phase I can see the energy and positivity blooming in his eyes.

This is an exciting moment for Byron. And, for me.

For more info about Byron B Kim’s work stay tuned for a link to his website.

For more info about Islais Creek Studios and surrounding Bay Area San Francisco Art Studio Spaces following this link:

http://www.thepointart.com/index.html

For more info about the Bay Area or San Francisco Art Scene check out ArtSpan here:

http://www.artspan.org/

I suppose most think of New York City as THE PLACE for the art world in the US, but there is a very powerful group of artists in the Bay Area creating innovative and unforgettable work!

I meet so many cool artist: Rebecca Jackrel, Enrique Aquirre, the esteemed Eric Joyner (YOU MUST GOOGLE ERIC’s WORK! YOU SIMPLY MUST!), Rebecca Fox, Min Hwan Park (truly inspirational metal work and jewelry), Marlene Kwee and the esteemed Yong Han ( LIKE THE ERIC, YOU MUST GOOGLE TO SEE SOME OF YONG’s WORK! YOU MUST! )

I also met several artists who visited Byron’s studio — one of whom really blows me away with her work! I am attaching a link and one of the many incredible photographs you will find there.

http://photoartmaria.com/

"Street Scene" by Maria Bartola Mejia -- what an amazing image! This is “Street Scene” by Maria Bartola Mejia

— I hope she will not be offended that I placed this incredible image here, but I can’t fight the urge to share her work!

And, of course, there is the powerful work of my best pal, Alan Kropp, at his website — URBANE LIGHT. By the way, he will soon be publishing a book of his work!!!! Stay tuned for more on that!

I’m just filled with thoughts of art today. I wish I were an artist. I know, I know. I’m a writer, right? I don’t feel like a writer. True. I wrote a book — but few have read it and I don’t think it holds much merit. I’m not fishing here. I’m just being honest.

interiors_stylebI think I have all the angst of an artiste but none of the talent. I feel like the little sister in Woody Allen’s INTERIORS.

 

October 27, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Uncategorized.

7 Comments

  1. Robert replied:

    Very nice. Most excellent Byron!! I know these photos don’t do the artwork justice, I wish I could see them in person. Keep up the fantastic work guys. This is definitely a most positive direction to set foot in the the door. I am anticipating Byron’s website!!

    BTW, are you guys familiar with this particular book? It’s quite a treasure, and for cheap, too!! I highly recommend it!!

    http://www.amazon.com/ART-WORK-Everything-Pursue-Career/dp/1416572333/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1256675318&sr=1-1

  2. matty03 replied:

    Robert! Oh! This looks like a great book!!!! …Mr. B turns the big 40 in December. Maybe I will have to get it for h– uh, I mean, maybe Santa will have to toss it thru one of our bay windows. …we’ve no chimmney. …I don’t know how to spell chimmney and am far too busy and important to look it up online. lol!

    And, thank you!

    love and kisses,
    matty

  3. Robert replied:

    I just bought this one: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0306816520/ref=cm_pdp_rev_itm_img_1

    I think one can’t go wrong with either one. 🙂 Have a great night Matty.

  4. matty03 replied:

    Robert! Thank you!

  5. brand new woo replied:

    that’s awesome, congrats to B!

  6. Ian Rogers replied:

    Very impressive work, sophisticated and sensitive. I am especially drawn to the narrative qualities of surface I see in these pieces.

    I was a friend of Byron’s many, many years ago in Hamilton and we fell completely out of touch over the decades – it is a genuine pleasure to have stumbled across his web presence like this.

  7. matty03 replied:

    Ian! How cool! I will forward your comment to Byron. Tho, I think he mentioned that an old friend from Hamilton had found him on FB. It is always cool to find a friend from the past!

    matty

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

