SMALL MOMENTS

mastertonesew1my mother has moved to san fransico. this is a good thing. it almost feels like it was meant to happen. she has arrived with a new attitude, re-new’d energy and is being very supportive. she found an apartment her third morning here — it is just two blocks up the street.

a lot of things have happened over the last several days. most not at all good. in fact, most have been quite horrible. but, my mother’s arrival has been a positive thing in my life. and, her’s.

changes, evolutions, revaltions, changing of wind and thought.

we had to stop the car. i was having one of these scary/odd experiences which i am told are “normal” for someone in my current mode of condition. i step’d out of the car, leaned on to the pavement wall over-looking this beautiful city.

i was trying to gather my thoughts and balance.

i lit a cigarette and heard a familiar voice call out my name. it was a former co-worker from my last job. …the best job i’ve yet to have. and, this former co-worker is someone for whom i have a great deal of respect and love.

i felt horrified, self-conscious and confused. but, she rushed to me and gave me a hug. and, though, i felt as if i were floating several blocks above the situation, i managed to speak.

as difficult as it was on one hand, it was so perfectly timed on the other. and, as it turns out, this other hand far out-weighed the first.

we only spoke for a few moments.

the exchange made me feel good. it gave me hope.

hope is so crucial, but these small moments glue the random pieces together to form a life.

…it’s the small moments that matter.

November 30, 2008. Tags: , , . Uncategorized.

10 Comments

  1. javabear replied:

    Matty! I’ve missed you! Good to see a new post. Somehow I missed the last couple.

    Congrats on your mom moving to town! I hope that continues to be a wonderful experience.

    Sorry you’ve been having such a rough time. I love how you focus on the positives, though. You are an inspiration, dear Matty.

  2. Steve's Rebooted replied:

    Wow, Mama Matty’s in San Francisco. I do know about those ‘moments.’ It always sucks when ya run into someone unexpected while going through it. However, that former co-worker sounds like a gem!

  3. Ultra Dave replied:

    I just discovvered your blog. What great writing! I really enjoyed! I’ll be checking in to see what other adventures you have.

  4. matty replied:

    Java! I miss you, too! If I could just get my stuff together and were back to blogging properly! I need to catch up with everyone!! But, I’m just taking it day by day. And, thank you! love, matty

    Steve! Yeah, it was really good to see her and to receive a hug — but difficult at the same time. She is a gem of a person!

    Ultra Dave! Thank you! I shall have to check out your adventures soon!!!! And, I shall!!!

  5. karyn replied:

    Email me -what’s happening???

    xxxooo

    K

  6. joe replied:

    loves and hugs to you! and I’ll bum a cigarette off of you too, while I do that.

  7. matty03 replied:

    Karyn! I promise to email soon! …having trouble getting myself together as of late. ugh! Hope you’re feeling better! Also must check your blog soon!!!!! love and kisses, matty

  8. matty03 replied:

    Joe! Hey Sexy Boy! If you were here, I’d certainly bum ya a ciggie! …but, I gotta quit after the holidays. I think I’m turning into a cigarette. ugh! love and kisses, matty

  9. Tim replied:

    Hey Matty! Sorry I haven’t stopped by for a while … I’m so shit! I’m sorry to hear that you’re going through some bad time at the moment. I hope your Mum moving to SF is helpful – it sounds like it has been so far. A big hug from Londinium! xo

  10. matty03 replied:

    Tim! You are SO NOT shit! You are awesome! …You’re busy! Hope you two are doing well in lovely London! Big hug to you from GayTown!
    matty

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

