Poor little Bagel. I was just about ready to set out for my off-balance walk for the day and I could not find Bagel. Then I found her. …chewing on a capsule holder of FAST KILL ant poison!!!! Of course, I freaked out. Too off-balance to drive a car right now so I had to pull B out of work. We called Poison Control and the vet — about an hour later and poor Little Bagel was being forced to vomit. We were sent away for an hour so I don’t know if they pumped her stomach or not. However, she was pretty much back to her normal self and we were assured that she would be OK. To further her bad day, we had to give her a bath as she smelled a bit of vomit. But, now she smells really nice, fluffy, clean and quite tired.

Oh, and we are not really quite sure how she found that poison. All we can think is that she somehow found it in B’s work area. So, he has fully puppy-proof’d his space. B tells me that he was made to feel quite guilty when he asked for the poison back as they handed our poor little shih-tzu back to him. But, without it, we get ants. Oakland has loads and loads of ants. I don’t know what we would have done if Bagel had been hurt. It was horrible.

I stayed in the car after we left Bagel with the vet. I was more comfortable calming myself in the luxury of the Element.

…just another day.

And, this is what I was listening to while drafting this post.

January 23, 2008. Tags: , , . Uncategorized.

20 Comments

  1. Old Cheeser replied:

    Poor Bagel! Glad all is okay now. At least she didn’t go the way of Heath Ledger!! (Sorry – a bit sick – but true!)

    Pets are like children I think – you have to keep harmful things out of their way – so make sure she’s doesn’t get her hands on that strap-on! (God! What is it with me today)

    What you have to ask Bagel is: How can I get you alone? How can I get you alone? Aaaaa-looooonee!!

  2. matty03 replied:

    Cool Old Cheeser?!?!? That’s not funny! But, I know what you mean. We do our best. We still can’t figure out how it happened. I suspect B had the stick on his desk somewhere and Miss Bagel somehow got up there. I don’t know, but we’re blocking her from that area all together!

    Miss Bagel is not that kind of girl, Cool Old Cheeser!

    kisses,
    matty

  3. Pants replied:

    Oh my goodness, poor Bagel!!! How truly horrible. I’m glad she’s doing better…fluffy smells and all.

  4. matty03 replied:

    Pants! I know! It was scary! But, she is doing great and all back to normal! And, I bathed her last night and she smells like candy!

  5. pakipoptart replied:

    So glad to hear the story ended with some ‘heart.’ I didn’t know oakland had ants? I haven’t had to deal with ants since I was in the Carribean.

  6. matty03 replied:

    pakipoptart! You and me both!!! Yep! California is just full of ants and spiders! Freaked me out at first but I got used to it.

    …Growing up in my part of Texas we had these huge roaches that could fly and lived in the pine trees — and they were aggressive and would chase you in summer months! No joke!

    …Then, I move to Boston and had to deal with rats the size of small dogs.

    But, now — it is just ants in Oakland. We had ants and spiders in the Castro.

    I hope they are not bothering my Ing!

  7. hot lunch replied:

    we get ants sometimes too… they’re no fun. Have you tried ant traps? that got rid of some of them for us.

    i’m glad Bagel is doing well though!

  8. matty03 replied:

    Hot Lunch! For some reason we really do get tons of ants here! We are on the 3rd floor — and due to the configuration of the building that ends up being like the 5th floor — but the ants come in thru the little cracks around our loft windows?!!?!? Anyway, they were attacking Bagel.

    …so, we got the chalk and outlined the windows. Seems to be the only thing that works. Anyway, we have it safely stored now.

    And, she is doing great and driving me crazy as I try to work on my lame attempts at “collage” …well, it fills the time.

  9. ing replied:

    Poor Bagel!

    Please be sure that your Hello Kitty dildo is in a secure place.

    I have so many ants! But I don’t mind ’em.

  10. matty03 replied:

    Ing! No worries! The Hello Kitty dildo is secure in that odd little cabinet thing in the kitchen!!!

    It was so upsetting to walk in and find Bagel crying covered in ants! Had to get rid of ’em!

  11. Java replied:

    Oh! The poor sweet puppy! 😦 Glad she’s better. I also feel sad for the two guys who love the poor sweet puppy. Are you better too? Sometimes after a scary event like that the “victim” is better but the loved ones are still a bit freaked.

  12. matty03 replied:

    Java! Thank you! Yeah, I don’t think it bothered either Bagel or B as much as it upset me. I don’t seem to want to leave her alone. I stayed home all day yesterday. lol! But, we’re fine. And, I think it is safe to say I’ve puppy-proof’d the house even more than it was before! Ugh!

  13. matty03 replied:

    Java! Why aren’t you sailing the high seas!?!? Oh, wait. You embark tomorrow! I was thinking you’d be having an adventure as I type! Bon Voyage, baby!

  14. Old Cheeser replied:

    Sorry – the Heath reference was a bit sick – just joshing of course…

    And I knew that Bagel wasn’t REALLY into strap-ons…

  15. matty03 replied:

    Cool Old Cheeser! I hope you know that I know you were joshing about! It is hard to type what you mean to say! Anyway, I didn’t think you thought and so and so! lol!

  16. johnmichael replied:

    I am glad bagel is alright!!

  17. matty03 replied:

    johnmichael! Yes, me too! It was horrible! But, she is bouncing about like a happy puppy again!!! Thank God!

  18. hot lunch replied:

    does chalk keep ants away!?!

  19. Daniel replied:

    WELL! Bagel certainly had a big day. I’m sure they did unspeakable things to her at the vet’s while you were away. Didn’t anyone ever think to tell her that poison was bad for her? I’m so glad she is well.

  20. matty03 replied:

    Daniel!!! Hi! I know! Actually, our vet office is really cool. They seem to really love all the animals. She is always comfortable with the vet and her assistants. So that is cool.

    I know! I keep telling her to stay away from dust bunnies and poison! But, does she listen!??!?

    I tell you! Puppies these days! I just don’t know!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

