THE NEW PAD…

B has spent countless hours working on our new place. He has done a great job. And, Ing gave up two days of her vacation to hang out with us and paint our kitchen and ladder! Here, they take a little break. Due to current restrictions for me, I haven’t been able to do much more than watch and arrange the magnets on the fridge — but a lot of work has gone into this huge apartment! and 95% of all of it has been done by B!
…and, then the Gorgeous Ing painted! …flawlessly!

I am just going to post up some pictures. I think our place is looking pretty good. Lots of open space. We still have a way to go. The pictures are not yet up, B’s studio is not up, we need to secure some decent lighting, an island for the kitchen, a new dining table more appropriate for the space, more paint for the bedroom/loft and the bedroom/loft/closet/storage unit is still incomplete — but we will be there soon.

Anyway, here is a look at a work in progress!





my old slanted shelving unit will soon be gone. …we just haven’t had a chance to carry it out. it looks odd near the ladder.


the above is taken from foot of the bed up in the ‘bedroom’
…the bedroom again — paint and a few pictures will soon be in order.

Now, it is really all about getting used to living in Oakland vs. The Castro. It is a real culture change. But, I do think the trade-off will be a good one. It is all coming together. …And, soon — a puppy! …Puppy therapy!

Why not?!?!

October 12, 2007. Uncategorized.

29 Comments

  1. ginab replied:

    Ings boobs lOOk HUGE!

    As in your flat lOOks HUGE!

    but I like the magnet fever on the fridge and then how amazingly huge the flat lOOks given the fridge (looks) like a mere box. You get me, I think.

    A little dog will get lost in that place that lOOks HUGE. Its barks will break its many many windows.

    ahh-heavens…

    I hope you feel so much better soon!
    ginab+bb

  2. Steve replied:

    Wow. Nice place… and it looks like you have an ass-load of room. Yes, I’m jealous. Great pics.

  3. scarlet hip replied:

    1. Your place rocks. RAWKS!
    2. All I have been talking about for months is that I want a job (which I just got), so that I can then get a house (which I will be looking for soon), so that I can get a puppy! Yay for puppies!
    3. Ing has a serious rack.

  4. fashmagslag replied:

    I especially like the dining chairs, very Danish Modern looking, at least from the photo. Looks like plenty of space to host the hippie drifters from the other day, after a thorough delousing, of course

  5. ing replied:

    The place looks great! Love the new window shades! My rack is exhausted!

  6. S replied:

    I already posted on your LJ but yes, fabulous and wonderful. Today my coworker and I were on the train and I pointed out your digs from where I was sitting. I was wondering about the progress, and there definitely has been some.

    Oakland living is different but not bad, sketchy sometimes but kind of hip too, right?

  7. diamondfistwerny replied:

    Wow!!!! It looks awesome! It’s so much fun getting a new place set up, isn’t it?

  8. Alan replied:

    it looks amazing….. like the next crop of ANTM models should be moving in! Does that ladder go anywhere?

  9. Alan replied:

    forgot to say I’m LOVING that rug in the living area. And you should cover the “bedroom” walls in a chocolate suede fabric.

    Oh no….. I’m coming over all Ann Maurice, now!

  10. Alan replied:

    I’ve taken the liberty of re-painting your kitchen wall. Check my blog http://oldandsalty1abroad.blogspot.com

    x

    hope you like it!

  11. thomas (the kungfukitten master) replied:

    hon, i am so proud of you! you have no idea. i am also very jealous of you, but we will keep that our little secret, k?

  12. pakipoptart replied:

    Hey the place looks great! I’ve never been to San Fran so I don’t really understand how dramatic of a move this is for you compared to where you were at. I’m assuming the trade off is more room here?

    Oh and I like the pink paint!! HOT!!

  13. Daniel replied:

    I so very want to come to San Francisco next year and see your fab apartment. So very very.

  14. Tim replied:

    Matty, your new pad is fucking ace! I’m very jealous, I love the big studio look. In the 1980s, all the coolest people people in Hollywood movies lived in big studio apartments, and now you do too! Therefore, you are one of the coolest people in the world. It’s simple logic. Hope you feel better soon though, so that you can actually enjoy the space 😦

  15. matty03 replied:

    Gina! Ing’s picture has generated a great of attention! As well that it should! It is a huge apartment! I’ve done very little regarding this apartment as of yet — but I did install the fridge magnets! …All by myself! We picked up our dog yesterday and she seems quite happy here. Actually, she seems very well adjusted and is even starting to show signs of understanding basic training! And, thank you! I better start feeling better soon! I’m sure I will!

    Steve! Hi! Thanks! Yes, it is hella-big! And, we don’t have much to go in here! lol! Lots and lots of space!

    Scarlet Hip! You will have your house and puppy soon! I just know it! And, yes! Puppies rule and make one smile even when one doesn’t feel like smiling. …as my doctor said, “how can a puppy ever be a bad thing?!?!?” …And, thank you! We’re liking it. It is starting to feel like home. I just wish it were not in this location. I want to be in the Castro or Ocean Beach. But, my hope is that Oakland will grow on me!

    Oh, and, yes, Ing is a major sex symbol on the verge of happening!!

  16. matty03 replied:

    FashMagSlag! B will be so pleased you like the chairs. He got those free from a client for whom he designed a new space and furniture. I am not sure of the style but they are quite cool and from what was an interesting board room circa early 80’s. Tough chairs!

    Ing! Awwwwww, thanks! I hope your rack isn’t too tired! Rest up, cupcake! …you need to come meet Bagel. She is quite excited to meet you!!!!

  17. matty03 replied:

    Miss S — Well, I’m not so sure I’m sold that Oakland is hip. But, I think we should do our best to make it so! It is certainly more affordable than GayTown. …but I do so miss my Castro!

    Mr. Diamond! How are you doing?!?!? Thanks! Normally, I would agree with you — but this transition has been quite difficult. However, I’m just rolling with it. It’s a rather difficult time. It will all work out. Just have to focus (best I can) and stick it out!

    Alan! (aka Salty Sailor!) — Thanks! No, the ladder leads no where. Just an odd part of the huge space. Ing explained to me that it leads to the over-sized water heater that heats the water for us. ? I like it now that it is painted. I’m glad you like the look of the living room — actually carpet remnants attached together to form a patter and faux-rug.

    …and, I like your mock-up for a new kitchen wall. But, I really like our pink kitchen. I picked the color. It makes me think of Malibu Barbie circa 1982 and that makes me happy! Also, I wanted a wall that just stood out from everything else. The wall and the shower curtain were the two things upon which I insisted. lol! Stop making fun of me! …that shade of pink will soon be the new black. I just know it!

  18. matty03 replied:

    Thomas!?!?!? Is that really you?!?!? I’ve missed you!!!! How are you? Drop me a line! Of what are you jealous?!?!

    Pakipoptart! Oh, I’m so glad you like the pink kitchen! I really think it goes well with my Hello Kitty toaster! Well, I guess moving from San Francisco (and we were in the heart of the Gay Castro) to Oakland is sort of like moving from Manhattan to Queens. Nothing horrible, but nothing great. However, it is so much cheaper. And, we now have a pet!!!!

  19. matty03 replied:

    Daniel! Yes! You must come to SF for a visit and then venture across the Bay Bridge to see our new home!!!

    Tim! I’m deeply touched. Yes, I hope this move cements my place in history as an 80’s hipster on the edge of both fashion and dance!!!! And, thank you! I suspect I will feel better soon! I have to!!!! I just have to!

  20. Old Cheeser replied:

    Hey Matty,

    Totally loving the look of your new pad and what you’re doing to it – or rather B, ha ha. (But hey, getting the fridge magnet right can be a full time occupation…)

    I particularly like the sofa, chequered rug and like everyone else the pink kitchen (very appropriate!) Looks fabulous!!

    And very relieved to see that you now have blinds up. Wouldn’t want to frighten the (Oakland) horses now, would we?

    Look forward to seeing the photos of the dog next!

    S xxx

  21. matty03 replied:

    Cool Old Cheeser! Thanks! Well, sadly, the horses were already traumatized and have left the city. Last I heard the herd was headed to Malibu. …smart horses. Yes! Bagel! Everyone must meet Bagel!

  22. Tim replied:

    OMG, is your puppy called Bagel? That is so cute!! We must have pictures soon, please 🙂

  23. matty03 replied:

    Tim! Yes! I hope to get my lazy ass in gear today and get them posted!!!! She is sooooooo cute!

  24. Pants replied:

    Wow! It looks great! I love the pink kitchen wall and green ladder!

  25. matty03 replied:

    Pants! Thanks! The pink matches my Hello Kitty toaster perfectly! …and Pepto Bismal! sp????

  26. hot-lunch replied:

    Matty, i love love love your place…

    It looks so warm and cool, which I understand is a bit of an oxymoron, but I hope u know what I mean. It looks FANTASTIC. I LOVE IT. I don’t know what else to say about it, other than I wish I had a place like that!

  27. matty03 replied:

    Hot Lunch! Awwwww! Thank you so much! If only it were located in a better area! Still, it is cool and B continues to create new things in the space! I think he has big plans this weekend! But, thank you! You’re so sweet! …I’m sure your place is totally fab!

  28. japanesewhispers replied:

    I’m sooo unimpressed! I mean really what do two people need all that space for. I much prefer my wee hole in the wall.

    Seriously though, you’re place is lovely!!! I’m jealous! Very very jealous! ちょう綺麗!

  29. matty03 replied:

    Janpanesewhispers! LOL! The best part of the new apartment is Bagel! No, it’s cool but it’s not so cool being in Oakland! Still, we could never get this kind of space there — unless we were wealthy — which we’re not! I’m sure your place is very cool!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

