GOING TO CALIFORNIA

I had to walk down to the ghetto fabulous package store for a Diet Coke. As I was about to unlock the entry door to our new building I noticed a scruffy group of kids. Kids. Well, they had to be under 25 but over 18. There were 5 of them. Each wearing ponchos and each was carrying a massive backpack.

“Hey, man! Is this the way to the Bay Bridge?”

“Yeah. Are you going to walk the Bay Bridge?”

“Yeah! Dude! We’re going to California!”

“You’re in California.”

“No! We’re going to San Francisco!”

“Why don’t you take the BART?”

“No money, dude! We’ve been hitchin’ it from Portland!”

“Welcome!”

“Got any money?”

“Nope!”

“Any weed?”

“Nope!”

…and, off the bunch went. Bound for adventure in the land of dreams.

I hope their camping gear doesn’t get stolen.

October 11, 2007. Uncategorized.

17 Comments

  1. fashmagslag replied:

    Uh, not to sound creepy, but sounds like SF just got it’s newest batch of soon to be street hustlers….or victims found in an abandoned building. Now why didn’t you let them stay with you? ^_~

  2. ing replied:

    Five is too many, even for Matty! He’s a one-man kind of guy. . . (You would be, too. His “B” is perfect!)

  3. Alan replied:

    you’re so greedy. You could have given them SOME of your weed.

    What’s “weed” anyway?

  4. matty03 replied:

    Fash Mag Slag! Well, I thought about that, but they sort of smelled funny and my head hurt. So, like the rest of us – they are on their own. I’m sure they will do fine. I don’t think one hitch hikes across states anymore without some street smarts. …I don’t think. Not sure why I would know.

  5. matty03 replied:

    Ing! I am! And, I quite agree — B is perfect!

    Alan – I’m not sure. I think it is this stuff that Ing adds to her cake mix. Comes from India or Berkeley. Spicy. I don’t have any. I don’t cook. I only ever get any when Ing comes by and makes snacks.

  6. matty03 replied:

    Alan!!! Oh my goodness! It is you! You care! You really do care! Awwwwwwww! I feel all soft on the inside!

  7. Alan replied:

    well, Ing sounds extremely naughty (that sounds better with a British accent). Does she need spanking?

  8. Alan replied:

    of course I care!!! You have a very tastefully furnished apartment in… erm, well near, California….. lol

  9. matty03 replied:

    Alan – I will have to let Ing respond to that question. But, yes, she can be quite naughty — particularly when Britney starts demanding more!

    Ing?

    Oh, Alan, I knew you did! I just knew it! Well, you haven’t seen the finished product of our fab pad. But, I shall get a new post up soon. It looks great. And, it IS in California. It takes me 8 minutes on BART to be at Union Square — and it is about a 7 minute walk to BART from our front door. Tho, B can do it in under 4 minutes. …he’s sporty.

    I do miss GayTown, tho. …but the ghetto is cheaper and we have lots of hardwood’d space! And neat-o artiste neighbors!

  10. ing replied:

    In answer, I prefer to receive, but in the case of spanking I think it’s much better to give. . .

  11. ing replied:

    LOL

  12. japanesewhispers replied:

    Where were they from that they didn’t know the SF was in California? Even I know that and I’ve only been to Florida! Take care of my friend she’s moving to LA but may be moving to SF after.

  13. matty03 replied:

    Ing! Yes, I quite agree. Well, I guess it depends on who and how one is to be spanked. …for me, anyway.

    JapaneseWhispers! I think they were just a wee bit high. …on life, I’m sure. lol! …sure! tell her to drop me a line. Most start out with SF then move to LA. …I think it cool that she is doing it the other way ’round. I’m not a big fan of LA. Fun to visit, but not really for me.

  14. japanesewhispers replied:

    It’s not so much a trip as she’s trying to move there for a good bit for work. She’s a translator, French and Japanese, although Japanese is better. She needs to get into the US so she can get interviews and hopefully charm people into giving her a working visa. She’s staying with a family friend in LA, who’s been kind enough to put her up while she job hunts. So, she may end up moving to SF, just depending on where the job takes her. She could end up in Oklahoma with her bf but she doesn’t really want that. Her image of Oklahoma is cows corn fields and cowboys and F*ck all else. LOL

  15. matty03 replied:

    Japanesewhispers! LOL! …I grew up in Texas and that is still how I think of Oklahoma!

  16. Tim replied:

    A weed is something bad that grows in the garden, right? At least, that’s what my mother always told me ….

  17. matty03 replied:

    Tim! That is correct, but if addressed properly one can make a good bit of change from those growings in the garden!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

