TO CANADA I GO

this would be me as captured in a school photo from november of 1976. it makes me laugh. my mother must have cut my hair. …with a bowl.

Anyway, me & B are going to be in Canada for a few days. Will be meeting B’s beautiful new niece and it will be my first time to meet his sister-in-law! It will be awesome! It will be good to get away for a few days. I’ve got my fingers crossed for no headaches!

Back next week!

I don’t think I will really have much if any access to a computer.

An Addendum: Ok, is it me or isn’t “Short Skirt/Long Jacket” by Cake one of the all-time coolest songs around??!?!? …the video is pretty damn cool, too.

August 24, 2007. Uncategorized.

16 Comments

  1. DanNation replied:

    I had the same exact haircut! Our moms must’ve had matching bowls. I would spend hours combing it, too.

  2. Old Cheeser replied:

    Loving the haircut. I too had a revolting blonde pudding bowl in the 1970s. Actually I didn’t look that bad. Quite alluring and feminine in fact. You look lurvely, Matty.

    Have a great break in Canada and quality time with B’s niece and your sister in law!

  3. Robert replied:

    Awh!!! I had one of those haircuts as well, and I was super dark too at the time, not a good combo really. Have a wonderful time with B and let’s hope for no headaches!!! No no no! [as Yoko would say!]

  4. no milk replied:

    i have a crush on cake, especially since that song “friend is a four letter word”. i downloaded all the tabs so i can play it on my guitar but i found that it’s mostly bass runs which are beyond me…

  5. pakipoptart replied:

    Matty! Hey thanks for all the positive energy! Things are going well.

    I love the pic and also the 70’s in general. 1976 was a great year, but ’79-’82 were much more magical don’t you think? Have fun in Canada.

    Pp

  6. sortedlives replied:

    Have a great time in Canada. Hope you are feeling better. I think I had the same shirt….LOL

  7. brookem replied:

    i flippin love that song by cake. what an amusing thing to think of on my first visit to your blog! and the picture, what a gem.

  8. scarlet hip replied:

    You are so screamingly cute I can’t stand it.

    Oh, and I like the picture too. Have fun lovey!

  9. hot lunch replied:

    have a great time! welcome to Canada!

  10. ing replied:

    I hope you’re having a great trip! When do you return?! Hurry back!

    You were such a cute kid, Matty. How did you grow up to be such a cute adult? I thought you only got one thing or the other.

  11. matty03 replied:

    DanNation! LOL! That is so funny! See? Great minds share similar 70’s hair cuts!

    Cool Old Cheeser! Thank you! Once again! Great minds equal great hair styles!!! I wasn’t myself for the visit, but it was a lot of fun to see Toronto and to finally meet B’s family! His niece is the most beautiful baby!

    Robert! All these bowl cuts! We rock’d! I wish Yoko’s chant could have equal’d no headaches — alas, did not work — but they were not as bad and I had my drugs!

  12. matty03 replied:

    No Milk! Yeah, the guys from Cake are pretty hot! I hadn’t really thought of it, but they are! I like the emotionally distant sound of the lead singer. His voice is rather sexy, too.

    Pakipoptart! Oh, good! I’m so glad to hear that! I’m not sure those years were magical for me, but there was fun to be had! And the tail end of disco!!!

    Sorted! We had way cool shirts! I was just thinking I wish I could transport that western shirt back to me now in my size! I think it would rock with a pair of Mauvi jeans!

    Brookem! Oh, I’m glad you stop’d by! My sad 9 year old picture. LOL! Yes, that song just totally rocks!

    Scarlet Hip! Awwwwwwwww! Thank you!!! You’re too sweet! Well, despite my lack of energy and headaches I think we had a good time! And, now more doctor appointments before the long weekend! Whoo-hoo!

    Hot Lunch! Thank you! Toronto is awesome — like a smaller/cleaner version of NYC! It made me laugh that LeBay is called TheBay in Toronto vs. LeBay in Montreal! …I was told I laugh far too easily.

    Ing! Awwwwww!!! I’m not sure I agree that I was cute at either stage! I think I might have been kinda cute when I was 2 to 5 years old, tho! We are back! It was neat to meet B’s family! I got to meet his Mom, too!!!!

  13. DFW replied:

    Have fun! And what an adorable picture!

  14. matty03 replied:

    Mr. Diamond! We had a good time and thank you! …your new profile picture is interesting… are you sure that it isn’t your pooh?

  15. Everybody's Whipping Boy replied:

    I’m too private of a person to share my pooh with the world 😛 And I’m glad you got to meet B’s family 🙂

  16. matty03 replied:

    Mr. Diamond — LOL! I think that’s a good thing! Yes! It was really cool to get to meet everyone. …well, i didn’t get to meet his father, but I did hang with his mom! She is very cool and fun!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

