Thoughts of Marlene


who is i’m thinking of

the one who wanted to be left alone

or

the one who chose to be left that way

when the restraints failed to hold up the skin

and the foundation could no longer fill the lines

sad that this is how i think of her

such a stunningly beautiful woman full of life

(and talent)

and what of her role in the undermining of hitler

myth, rumor, and history have merged

cloudy

we don’t know.

we will never know. at least not for sure.

and, it does not really matter.

and, somehow her lonely voice —

over-sex’d, under-love’d, off-key voice croons out

sounding all the more alluring —-

“Resting in a billet, just behind the line,
Even tho’we’re parted, your lips are close to mine.
You wait where that lantern softly gleams.
Your sweet face seems to haunt my dreams.
My Lili of the lamplight, My own Lili Marlene…” …and, so I find myself thinking of the lamplight movie star who will be forever singing out sadly.

Marlene RIP

July 8, 2007. Uncategorized.

16 Comments

  1. Daniel replied:

    To me, she embodied the great mystery of life.

  2. ing replied:

    Awwwww, I didn’t know she’d died. I guess we all do, but still, it’s sad.

  3. matty03 replied:

    Daniel! …Yes, and always so detached. …cool.

  4. matty03 replied:

    Ing! Yeah. I think she died back in ’92 (maybe ’91) …but David Bowie got to work with her at least! ….just a gigolo…

  5. ginab replied:

    Hemingway loved her. LOVED her. They loved EACHOTHER.

    Not sure about the “on the barrel glam shot”, but alas she was snazzy and with wit. Sharp.

  6. matty replied:

    Gina – Yes! If anyone had an interesting life – it was she! Oh, to have been a fly on the wall! …that is a shot from the movie that made her famous/infamous, THE BLUE ANGEL! It can be seen in both the German (original) and the US version (remade for the US) …interesting.

  7. Old Cheeser replied:

    She was certainly iconic. I haven’t actually seen much of her on the screen. I love “See what the boys in the backroom will have”. Say no more.

  8. matty replied:

    Old Cheeser! …I’m an innocent. What ARE the boys in the backroom having? Pure and virginal inquiring minds want to know!

  9. matty replied:

    Old Cheeser! I’m an innocent. What ARE the boys in the backroom having? Pure and virginal inquiring minds want to know!

  10. matty replied:

    I felt the need to ask this question to Old Cheeser twice.

    why?

    because i must have selected the “reply” button twice by mistake.

    but, still, in should be asked twice. I think.

  11. diamondfistwerny replied:

    Yes, she was. And beautiful images you’ve shared!

  12. matty replied:

    diamondfistwerny! She rock’d and thanks! Your blog is really cool! Must get you on my blogroll! …my apple it down.

    …iWorries.

  13. ing replied:

    Is your apple back up again?

    Pure and virginal. Yes, I think that’s an accurate description. We’re very much alike in many ways.

  14. matty replied:

    Ing! No, my apple seems to be a bit ill. Haven’t figured the problem yet.

    yes, we are so alike.

    …just two babes in the wood. …kissed for the very first time.

  15. Robert replied:

    Where’s Matty been lately? I worry. Hope everything is okay with you!! xoxo

  16. matty03 replied:

    Robert! I’m fine! My iBook has been ‘down’ …actually, it still is. can’t figure out what is wrong. I can make it work if I lay it at the very end of our bed and turn myself sort of upside down as I type. Most worrying!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

