DECONSTRUCT A WAY TO ART


I don’t really write about where I work. This is a part of life which, for me, is best not posted to my blog. However, I happen to work for a very cool organization and I really love my job! I think this might be the first time I’ve ever written that and really meant it!

A major part of the reason I love my job it is that it allows me to work with some extraordinary artists and all around cool people. Actually, I am now constantly surrounded by artists! One of the coolest is called Josie.

Even if she didn’t have a totally awesome sense of style (shoes and clothing to die for!) — she is very talented, funny, highly intelligent and carries a true sense of self. And, as we all know, a true sense of self is really quite key in this twisted world of ours. Interestingly, so few seem to have a true sense of that and Josie does.

I’m telling you about Josie because she is working on an art project of note and interest. Take a minute to check it out!

If you can crochet or knit — then, please check it out!!!

Be a part of the art!

Even if you will be no where near the area in which Burning Man happens — you can still be there in spirit with this project! Folks from all over the world are participating, but she still needs more contributions!

  • a tree undone …in the event I screw up and my link doesn’t work. Simply go to http://www.pokiedot.com or look to the left at my links and follow the one called “a tree undone”

    …and, help destroy to create. Or, re-create.

    I wish I could crotchet. More than anything, I’d like to crotchet a shawl for Ing and B so that I can say to each of them at the appropriate time(s): “Don’t forget your shawl! It is cold outside!”

    Well, a boy can dream. And, yes. I may be 40 — but if Paula Abdul can be forever the girl then I feel I should be allowed to be forever the boy!

    kisses,
    matty

    April 17, 2007. Uncategorized.

  • 15 Comments

    1. ing replied:

      Hmmmm, I might be publicizing a cool new book on crochet this coming spring, if I’m lucky enough to get it.

      The website is awesome. But I can’t imagine you crocheting stuff, Matty, no more than I can imagine you cooking.

    2. matty03 replied:

      Ing – Oh, no! I can’t sew/knit or crochet! I wish that I could or I would attempt a couple of leaves. But, for now, my focus shall be on roller skates. However, I do believe you can knit! No?

      What is this thing you write of? “cooking”? …does that have to do with Tina Turner?

    3. Pants replied:

      Oh my God, I LOVE IT! The tree undone project looks awesome…I really should drag my lazy ass (hands?) back into knitting and give the leaves a try.

      Also, I’m incredibly jealous that you not only love your job, but work with creative people. Lately, I’ve been thinking that hell is for office work…eh.

    4. Daniel replied:

      Paula Abdul-13 going on 80.

      Didn’t she used to be a singer or something?

    5. ing replied:

      I don’t remember how to knit, but I do remember that it was very, very easy. So if I EVER have a moment to spare, I’ll try one of these leaves. Art is for the leisure class. Okay, and people who aren’t too lazy to struggle.

      In the meantime, though, I’m going to be working on this book called The Knitting (Man)ual, a knitting book for men. All the men in the photographs are HOT!!!!

    6. ing replied:

      I don’t remember how to knit, but I do remember that it was very, very easy. So if I EVER have a moment to spare, I’ll try one of these leaves. Art is for the leisure class. Okay, and people who aren’t too lazy to struggle.

      In the meantime, though, I’m going to be working on this book called The Knitting (Man)ual, a knitting book for men. All the men in the photographs are HOT!!!!

    7. ing replied:

      Oy.

    8. matty03 replied:

      Pants! Yes! I have an awesome job!!!! I really am loving it! I’m very blessed! Oh, I hope you’ll create a leaf or two!

      Daniel — I think Ms. Abdul was a singer/dancer or something but now she mainly gets drunk for interviews and is mean to her fellow passengers in coach.

    9. matty03 replied:

      Ing – NO! Art is for all of us! All!

      …wow, those knitting boys must be hot! they worked you up so that you had to write about them twice!

      Oy, more ketchup! (I don’t know. I just felt like writing that!)

      I left my iPod in B’s car and I’m without music. Most distressing!

    10. josie replied:

      aw, thanks matty! gee!

      i love the idea of the knitting (man)ual. like a boys version of this book: http://tinyurl.com/yr66hj

      also, i need to update the site with this, but the leaves needn’t be made from the patterns on the website, they can be as simple as just knitted squares.

      thanks again for the promo! you rock.

    11. matty03 replied:

      Josie! Yes, Ing’s knitting (man)ual sounds most interesting! And, this book to which you’ve linked looks most cool! I hope you get some more leaves!!!! It is you who rock!

    12. ing replied:

      Oh, yay! I LOVE that Naughty Needles book! The Knitting (Man)ual isn’t quite as sexy, but it’s sexy nevertheless.

      You will get your leaves, Josie! And if I can find some time, I will contribute one of my sad, uneven pot-holder things that I can knit.

      I hope I get to meet you someday! If Matty likes you, I will like you, too. Guaranteed.

    13. matty03 replied:

      Yay! Ingrid will make a leaf!!!!

      …we need a pot holder in the worst way, by the way!!!!

      A GoldFrapp pot holder.

    14. Askar replied:

      Russian BRAND Pavlovo-Posad Pure Woollen Shawl, woollen Fringe *GOLD* .THE FLOWERS OF RUSSIA ON YOUR SHOULDERS!NEW!! Directly from Russia! Size is 4 4/5 x 4 4/5 feet or 36 x 36 inches (89 x 89 ?m). 100% WOOL.Pure wool shawls are produced by the Pavlovo Posad Shawl Manufacture, established in 1795. Shawls are created in the best artistic traditions of Pavlovo Posad, with exceptional quality. It will always look elegant on you.Because of artificial light the colors may not exactly correspond to the real ones…

    15. matty03 replied:

      Askar = Well, I have always wanted a shawl. It gets a little chilly during those San Francisco evenings.

    Leave a Reply

        Trackback URI

