MY NEW HAIR DID

After brunch I knew I was going to get my hair cut. I went to my fave place. It is cheap and quick. I don’t have that much hair and it is getting thinner every day. …So, I keep it short.

Anyway, I’ve always wondered how it would look if I shave all around my head with the #1 blade — just above the ears. And, then, to leave a bit of length on the top with no blending.

So, I did it.

I think I like it. However, I am fighting whether or not to let the gel stick it more or less flat and out or to amp the gel up and spike the top. Both B and the lady cutting it just wanted to pull it into little horn-like spikes. No one looked at me any funnier than they normally look at me.

I can’t decide.
…please ignore the bald spot like you would ignore the man behind the curtain. it is the only polite thing to do. thank you, please.

I started to get B to take a picture, but I can’t decide how I’m going to wear it or if I might not go back tomorrow and have it blended in. I think I’ll not do that, tho. I need to give it more time. And, I think I need more of a Power Gel. You know? Or, maybe I should dye it pink/red/ or pitch black? …if I went with black I could purchase some of that black spray paint and hide my balding spot.

Still, I’m unsure.

February 24, 2007. Uncategorized.

30 Comments

  1. Alan replied:

    d’you know….. I SO would shag you.

  2. Meredith replied:

    Must be that time of year! I’m waiting for my friend to come and bob my hair. It’s dyed darker now and I’m in a Dorothy Parker phase. I’ll post pics too but only when I’m sure it looks fabulous. Can’t wait to see what you’ve done with yours. I say spike it… mostly because it feeds my nostalgic sense of how boys hair should be. Snarl like Billy Idol and I’ll be having a full on 80s flashback.

  3. tim replied:

    I like it… but I think it would look best spiked up. Yay for the new hairdo.

  4. ing replied:

    I like it, too, and I’m not sure whether it should be spiked or flat. . . my feeling is that you don’t want to overdo it with the gel. These days, it’s best to keep it natural. Have you ever tried hair wax? It helps you make your hair do what you want it to do, but it doesn’t get that hard, gluey look. So instead of having sharp spikes, you’d look touseled.

  5. YarravillePaul replied:

    I agree with ing. Have a go at the tousled wax look.

  6. Topher replied:

    Spike it up soldier!

  7. Bruce replied:

    Matty,

    I’m surprised that you are concerned only with what your hair LOOKS like, and not what it FEELS like during moments of, let’s say, exchanges of affection/passion. Running your hands through your partner’s hair, or across his smoothly shaven pate, is an important erotic moment for many people. I remember, years ago in the days of hairspray, women would put men off with: “Please, not now dear, I’ve just been to the hairdresser.” Hence, the (fortunate) demise of hairspray.

    Since the feel and smell of a partner’s hair is an important erotic element, aren’t you afraid of sending the message: “I care more about how I look than how I can please you and get pleasure from you.”?

  8. sortedlives replied:

    I have to agree with Alan, I would shag you too. Great look, but than again, you always look great!

  9. joe replied:

    Hmm, I’d shag you even if you had long shaggy hair or none at all. So, with dispensing with that standard, I’d say your hair looks great. Go flat when feeling a little flat, go spikey when feeling a little pointy. The gel is an extension of all that is Mattiness.

  10. Dessie replied:

    Blend it babe, please

  11. matty03 replied:

    Alan – Oh. I blush and hide myself behind the curtains! LOL!

    Lovely Meredith! Don’t know why you couldn’t see the pix?!?! But they are there. Oy. I don’t know. I don’t snarl well. I cough pretty good. I can’t wait to see your new look to go with your new blog design!!!

    Tim – I feel like I have horns when I spike it. I might take a poll at work. …not really. Yay! New hair do!

    Ing — well, after discussing with you I do believe I have the sort of hair goo to which you refer. And, my hair is all tasseled about — I’ve that just fell out of bed after a frat party and they shaved my head look. I’m trying to work it.

    YPaul!!! Yes, Ing seems to know best in these matters. She has a pet plant named “Shalimar” after all!

    Kris – I fear I’ve not enough hair to fully spike. I think it might look better just messed up. …bed head.

    Bruce! Darling! Color me a hue of ‘shocked!’ I’d NEVER let my hair get in the way of great sex! No! Never! Fear not. My gel doubles as lube. Actually, it is made my Wet (insert TM marker here) …so it actually enhances it all. Plus, I should think it feels good when worked against certain areas of my B! But, pleasure works both ways. Does it not?

    Sorted Lives! Oh, you’re so sweet! Once again, I blush and cover my face with my pink-gloved hands!

    Joe — Awwwwwwwww! You guys are making my day!!! And, great advice. I think I might have been feeling a bit flat but now feel all spiked up!

    Dessie — Oh, no! Do you not love my new ‘did’?!!?!? I just might end up blending it — but it will not be before next weekend. Waiting for my next payday. …yes, it is pay check to pay check pour moi again. …At least until summer.

  12. Old Cheeser replied:

    Hi Matty

    Have to say I agree with Dessie – the shaved bit at the side does look a bit severe and the overall hairstyle is rather “Blackadder”! I think blending it in would create a better overall effect…

    I too have a number one round the back and sides but blending it in makes it look better…well that’s my opinion anyhow.

    At the end of the day tis all up to you, babes!! And there’s nowt wrong with a bit of experimentation!

    OC x

  13. ginab replied:

    Hmm…you could dye the top ‘canopy’ green, if you get me ;-). The spot we’re to ignore, blue, and the close-shave a rich earthtone. Then we’d have an ariel view of Palm Springs.

  14. matty replied:

    Old Cheeser — Hmmm.. I’m thinking I kind of like this way. I might change my mind come the end of the week and payday. we shall see!

    Gina — Ohhhhhh, I like where you’re taking me with this suggestion. Palm Springs is really “in” right now. Good thinking! I could also do a sort of Easter Egg idea. Need to think that one thru. Ing will be seeing it in person tonight so she might have some new/added suggestions as well. But, this one is my fave!!

  15. ginab replied:

    Glad you like it! πŸ˜‰

    Tell Ing I say she has bOObs.

    -g

  16. Kevin replied:

    I like it. There’s just enough there to grab onto.

    And people with bald spots never point out other people’s bald spots …

  17. matty replied:

    Gina! Ing gave me “hair glue” pointers last night and is going to get me some magic hair wax proto-tool later this week! And, yes! She most certainly has great boobs! How can she not know that?!?!?! Ing!!!

    Kevin! Thank you! Today I’m doing what Ing suggested — flat with a bit of tasseled on top and a bit of a spike at the front. In other words I feel all things today! And, yes, I quite agree. However, I think it is OK to point out one’s own bald spot. One should never point it out on another man’s, tho.

    And, Monday! Here I come! …half asleeep.

  18. Robert replied:

    I think I like it blended. Smoooooth baby! But people want to shag you regardless, so it’s a win-win situation. I got a haircut this weekend, feels great… even tho the lady sorta f’dit up. I said: “Keep it the same. Just shorter!” Simple instructions, yet she rounded out my spiky top! Curse her, but I improvise! One has to! πŸ™‚

    Happy Monday Luff.

  19. Pants replied:

    How did the wax turn out? I’m a big fan of wax, when my hair is shorter.

  20. Terri ~ Las Vegas replied:

    My husband is suffering with the same small problem…
    but I love him no matter how much is little spot is showing … I just worry about it getting sunburned!!

    My dad had a real problem w/ it…. and he hated it so much …he did the whole comb over thing for a while… then we griped at him so much that he cut his hair real short and it looks great!!!!!!

  21. ing replied:

    Yes, I will deliver the styling wax. And I thought the new did was cute, but maybe there’s something to the Black Adder comment. I think you look very boyish, but I guess if you ask me, I’d say go for the blend. It’s FUN to experiment, though, and you look very handsome, always.

    If you trust that barber, you can trust me. . . I know how to cut hair. Do you have an electric razor? I’m cutting my coworker’s hair on Saturday. Want to join in? ‘Course I’m not a PROFESSIONAL, so you might want to stick with the barber. But I’ve always thought it was easy to cut hair. And dyeing?! I’m really good at that!

    I’m so tired, I could sleep standing up with my eyes open. Which is pretty much what I did all day. I better lay down.

  22. matty replied:

    Robert! Well, I’m glad you were able to improvise and make it work! I find that the simpler one makes the instructions the more complicated it seems to be for the stylist. Don’t know why. I don’t know, my new ‘did’ seems to be a hit at the office. I could be on the verge of starting a new trend. But everyone at work seemed to like it. So, I think I might leave it be.

    I could change my mind, tho.

    Pants! I don’t know yet. Ing was going to bring me some but all she brought me were some chocolate covered figs. Which, granted, I enjoyed more than hair wax but I guess I’ll experience the joys of wax someday soon. see her comment below.

    Terri! Oh, I wanna go to Vegas! But, will I be accepted with my Black Adder Style hair cut?

    What is Black Adder anyway? I saw the show once but I thought he was wearing a hat thru the whole of it. ??? I worry it looks more like Moe from The Three Stooges.

    But, Terri — yes! I fully embrace my bald spot. Work with you’re given. That is the best thing to do. And, no comb-overs. O dear!

    Ing!?!?!?! Where o where is my hair wax!?!!?!? A pole dance for hair wax! I promise! No, but you can only cut my hair if you promise to fall asleep as you do it. I think that might prove interesting and I love the idea presented by Gina. Tho, I think I want to go for an easter egg look vs. Palm Springs. Maybe.

    But, I think I shall not blend for now. People at work really seemed to like it. I think it was genuine. …or maybe they were making fun of me behind my back. I hope not tho.

    Maybe I should grow it out really long but continue to shave all around with my head without blending. Then I could form a Ratt cover band. …it could happen.

  23. Kevin replied:

    Eh, spiky, flat, up, down, with hair or without …

    I’d still lick ya. πŸ˜‰

  24. ing replied:

    Oooh, Kevin misspelled “like,” I think?!?

    Pleasepleaseplease don’t grow out the top and keep the sides and back shaved, please. Keep the blend for as long as you want to, though. It’s your head, baby. If all those artsy people at work like it, it must be cool.

  25. matty replied:

    Oh, Kevin, Thank you! How often does someone tell me that they want to lick me? …not all that often! Last count — maybe two, three times a day! It means a lot!

    Ing – That was no spelling error! Kevin just wants to lick me! LOL! …It happens. It has already grown out about a foot in length. …a sort of American Indian Village People look I should think! LOL!

    I need to create a new post and catch up on my blogging! It has been so busy!!!

  26. Kevin replied:

    Nope. πŸ™‚

  27. ing replied:

    I’m soooo naiive.

    I breakfasted at Orphan Andy’s this morning. My bank in The Castro plays fast disco music. What the?!?

    Honeybabe, you’ve made my life a whole lot easier in so many ways. I will explain via email.

    New post!

  28. The Persian replied:

    I really like it. And that’s not a bald spot, you just put too much gel there. *wink*

    πŸ™‚

  29. Daniel replied:

    I adore you either way. The high and tight look is cute and boyish, and the spiky look is edgy and slightly dangerous.
    Both facets of your never fading mystery and allure(snerf).But seriously, it’s just window dressing. The treat is what’s inside.

    And no, I am NOT drunk, at least not as much as I think you are

  30. matty03 replied:

    Ing! That means you can dance when you do your banking! It’s all good!

    The Persian! You know, I’ve been thinking that was the whole issue! Thank you! LOL!

    Daniel – Oh, you’re too sweet! Thank you! And, yes, I’m drunk on the elixir of life: Diet Coke.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

