I’VE BEEN TAG’D!!!

…by my way-cool pal, Joe over at Icy Blog!!!! I will not tag anyone, tho I would be most curious to see what Hot Lunch, Daniel, Acting Responsible, Kevin, Old Cheeser or Minge would do with this list! But, here goes:

Name a book that you want to share so much that you keep giving away copies:
“The Little Prince” …I feel that the world would be a better place if we all read this book at least twice a year.

Name a piece of music that changed the way you listen to music:

This is an interesting question. This is not really asking me to list my favorite piece(s) of music but the one(s) that have changed the way I listen to music. Hmmmmm… There are four songs that I remember caught me so off-guard when I first heard them that I can still remember where I was and what I was doing when I first heard them. So, I shall list those 4 songs:
“Wuthering Heights” by Kate Bush …odd, magical, romantic, creepy and sweeping. Totally original and 5 steps ahead of the game.
“Rock Lobster” by the B-52’s …Noise with a beat and a twist of Yoko Ono. Is shouldn’t but it totally works and I’ve never heard anything quite like it.
“Pissing In A River” by Patti Smith Group …punker than punk and four times as angry. Hearing this as an 11 year old led me on to the “Horses” LP which was even more so. However, this song remains The One for me when it comes to Patti Smith. I love the idea of relationship evaluation as the review of a blowjob that is just going no where no matter how hard she tries. It is flacid. And she is pissed off …and hurt.
“I Feel Love” by Donna Summer …ultra chic, super cool and something that still sounds like it is so far ahead of the curve you have to remind yourself it came out over 30 years ago.

Name a film you can watch again and again without fatigue:
Once again, I am unable to restrict myself to only one choice. I do love the movies!
1. Ken Russell’s film version of The Who’s TOMMY
2. Robert Altman’s NASHVILLE
3. Robert Altman’s 3 WOMEN
4. Barbra and Kris in A STAR IS BORN (sigh)
5. BELLE DE JOUR (wow)
6. Woody Allen’s MANHATTAN

Name a performer for whom you suspend all disbelief:
Simply Barbra

Name a work of art you’d like to live with:
…that sculpture which Maude makes Harold feel — and they both seem to almost reach orgasm as they touch it.

Name a work of fiction that has penetrated your real life:
I want to say “The Little Prince” but if I’m honest I guess I’d have to say “Looking for Mr. Goodbar” by Judith Rosner.

Name a punch line that always makes you laugh:
“I stole the TV!” Jerri Blank, opening credits to the last 2 seasons of “Strangers With Candy” …never fails to make me laugh. …Mainly because it is so random and I have no idea what it really has to do with anything. God bless Amy Sedaris!

Kisses from GayTown,
matty

February 20, 2007. Uncategorized.

21 Comments

  1. Kevin replied:

    Tag, I’m it. I’ll do this — just not right this minute.

    But I LOVE Amy Sedaris … and her brother David.

  2. matty03 replied:

    Kevin! Yay!!!! I love Amy S, too!!! And, I think her brother is brilliant! However, I can’t stand to listen to him speak. I’m not even sure why. But he has one of those voices that just grates me! ?????

  3. ing replied:

    The voice is a little odd, but I really love his earlier writings. I think it all culminated with Me Talk Pretty One Day.

    But Amy! I find her funnier than David, and though he has his moments, the endings to his short pieces seem a little flat sometimes. I just don’t think his brilliance is consistent. So far, I think Amy’s getting better and better.

    I will purchase The Little Prince, as I don’t own a copy. I read it in High School, though, and I adored it.

  4. matty03 replied:

    Ing! Yes! And, now, Amy has taught me how to host a party. Tho, I do not think B agrees with many of her ideas. Oh well.

    Man! I so meant to get you a copy of The Little Prince for Christmas. I guess I opted for the baby blanket instead. Odd, that! LOL! Oh well. Yes! You must have it in your collection!!!!

  5. hot lunch replied:

    of course i’ll do this!! joe tagged me too, so now i’ve been tagged twice! Does this mean i have to do it twice??? oh the pressure!

  6. matty03 replied:

    Hot Lunch!

    Yes!!! You have to do it twice!!!

    I can’t wait!

    for those of you who don’t know, Hot Lunch rules!

  7. joe replied:

    the Little Prince! I read that in high school. Probably the first book in French I actually read in its entirety. B-52s, Ken Russell, Patti Smith and Altman. you are so my kind of guy.

    And yeah mr. Hot Lunch, that list better be twice as good too! 🙂

  8. matty03 replied:

    Joe! Thank you!!! And, Happy Birthday! …In a day, I believe!

    OK, so, what is the best translation of Little Prince as you’ve read it in French. Once upon a time I was able to read French. I could never speak it, but I used to be able to read it. No more.

    If you were here we could be attending the Robert Altman tribute at The Castro. …I’ve not made it to a single screening! Blah!

  9. Mr. Anjou replied:

    I adore Kate Bush, but have never listened to ‘The Kick Inside’ all the way through. Your post has inspired me to revisit that record (and, hey, it IS a record!) all over again…

  10. Robert replied:

    Oh Kris is gonna love The Little Prince cuz that’s HIS favourite book… I know cuz he sent me a copy! ehehe! Well this was enlightening.. Love all your meme’s Matty! Happy Wednesday! xoxo

  11. Minge replied:

    Done! Just doing the links…! Thanks!

  12. Brookelina replied:

    Oh The Little Prince. I heart you so (both of you). I’ll be curling up with him tonight thanks to you.

  13. ing replied:

    But Kate Bush: she’s runnin’ up that road, she’s runnin’ up that hill. . . I guess I don’t get it. Hmm. (That’s Kate Bush, right?) I agree that Patti Smith rocks.

  14. Old Cheeser replied:

    Hey Matty,

    Thanks for tagging me – great quiz – I like the questions! Will endeavour to post the very same on my blog soon, although a tad busy now (that thing called work keeps getting in the way…)But I will do it!! Promise!!

    I too agree with your choice of Ms K Bush. Have you heard her latest?

    OC xxx

  15. matty03 replied:

    Mr. Anjou! Yes! Listen to her first LP all the way thru! The title track is my fave. The amazing thing is just thinking back to hearing that voice for the first time. Most cool!

    Robert! LOL! Thank you! YES! I know that is Kris’ fave book! I think he and I have emailed about it before! Kris rocks!

    Minge! Cool! Can’t wait to check it out!

    Brooke! Awwwwwww, thanks! I hope you had a great cuddle with The Little Prince!

    Ing — Oh, I think you should listen to that song again. I mean, it is an interesting view on the relationships between people (in the case of this song — men and women) …but I think we always wonder what it feels like for the other person. I mean, we’re all running up that hill over and over and over again. …and, we’re all trying to make a deal with God. Ms. Bush is not the rocker or quite the poet as Ms. Smith. However, for me, Bush’s music has aged better with me. I often feel like the work that used to inspire me by Smith now leaves me feeling a bit cold. It is all rebellion and I know I loved it once — but that time feels so far away. While many of Bush’s songs have taken on greater weight with me as I get older.

    Old Cheeser! Oh, no worries! We all know that thing called “work”!!!! Of course!!! LOL! I had my copy of the last Kate Bush CD shipped from the UK the day it was released!!! I love the second CD. I like to play it while I’m laying down on the beach or in the darkness of the living room late, late at night. My eyes shut. And, I sort of drift with it.

  16. Kevin replied:

    Watch my blog tomorrow for my response. I’m pretty happy with it actually.

  17. Minge replied:

    Dictation being forced in Afghanistan!

  18. Pants replied:

    I must revisit The Little Prince!

  19. ing replied:

    Okay, but I’m NOT watching Liza.

  20. Topher replied:

    This is an interesting read. Jerri makes me laugh too. I have a bit of a problem now that whenever I see the sign “Push” on doors, I can’t help not to chuckle when I remember Jerri trying to pull the door open. I’m trying to keep the random giggling to a minimum but it’s hard not to when we’ve witnessed something great 😀 Would have to check out these books and movies you mentioned, teacher.

  21. matty replied:

    Kevin! Can’t wait to check it out when I get home tonight!! Yay!

    Minge — I didn’t know you knew dick-tation. However, I guess I could have guessed! LOL! …I wonder if your comment will make sense once I get home and check your blog! ??? Kisses! m

    Pants! Yes, you must revisit our little prince!!! You simply must!

    Ing – Look, Missy! You know you’re just as curious about that shelved VH1 footage of Liza’s reality show featuring a dinner party with her horrific exhubby and Michael Jackson — and their staff serving them! You know you want to see it!! Admit it! LOL!

    Oh, Kris — wait, we were all convinced that not only had you read “THE LITTLE PRINCE” but that it was your fave book!?!!?!? …or do you mean Mr. Goodbar? Hmmm… Like Jerri, I tend to pull on push doors. It must be a burn out thing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

