THE PRESSURES OF BEING COOL ON MUNI

…but someone has to do it! I’m a Non-Profit Manager now! So, I take the bus! Actually, I take the bus because I’d have to get up a half hour earlier to walk there.

Anyway, I’ve been wearing the way cool big headgear’d headset given me by B for my birthday! Bose! And, they rock. However, if you sit near me I do believe you can hear whatever I might be groovin’ to at that moment. I can have rather eclectic tastes in music. And, I’ve gotten some odd looks as I listen to a shuffle of John Denver, The Circle Jerks, Missy Elliott and Barbra. I just bop my head and smile. I do, however, try to keep the volume at a lower level because it is mean to impose your music on others — even if it might bring talent, love and happiness into their lives. Some people don’t really want that sort of musical magic, you know.

However, this morning I was feeling like a bit of love in the battlefield. You know? It must happen to each of you from time to time! Yes, I needed a fix of Ms. Pat Benatar! So, I had selected my musical artiste for the morning and had all of her tunes on my iPod. I have 24 Pat Benatar songs at the ready at all time! Yes, I am invincible. Anyway, just after I was amping down from the funk of being dared to hit someone with my best shot – Pat began to sing about the need to get nervous. It was at this point that a surprisingly animated older lady sat herself down next to me and tapped me one the shoulder.

“I’m sorry. Is it too loud?”

“No, baby. Just wondering what sort of music that is you’re listening to. Sounds like some sad ass white girl tryin’ to be Elvis.”

I can’t help but laugh. I show her my iPod.

“Remember Pat Benatar?”

“Oh, yeah! She was cool, tho! Ohhhh! Look! You can see her picture! You’re a cool white boy, huh?”

“Well, that’s what they tell me.”

She laughs. “Yeah, I remember my daughter wantin’ to look like her. I wanted her to look like LaToya Jackson. Shows you how much I know.”

It was my stop. I wished her a good day. And, then, I made a mental note to only wear the little Apple ear buds when on public transit. …Because, sadly, I’m not sure everyone will agree that Pat Benatar is cool. However, I am fairly certain that she is cooler than LaToya Jackson.

February 5, 2007. Uncategorized.

26 Comments

  1. Daniel replied:

    I am in love with what’s going on inside of you these days! Something has come loose inside you that’s been tied up before, and I’m really liking it.

    Just my two cents…

  2. Pants replied:

    It would so love to see you SF someday and I have a feeling the Bose headphones may help that happen.

  3. Dessie replied:

    I just picked up “Back to Black” by Amy Winehouse. It’s well worth a listen if you get a chance.

    STILL no feedback on the job. Sigh.

    Kisses from freezingmyfuckingarseofftown, D xx

  4. Karyn replied:

    That is hilarious. Switch to your earbuds though, I say… and yes, Pat is way cooler than LaToya… that isn’t even a contest…

  5. Minge replied:

    Everyone wanted to look like LaToya at one time or another!

  6. Topher replied:

    Ya know, I’m not sure who Pat Benatar is. I’d probably heard some of her songs, I just didn’t know it’s hers. Anyways, commuting’s awesome. Though I haven’t been catching the bus lately. I’ve been getting up later than I used to and just drive to the Metro station nearby (2 miles away). It is cold here! This is the coldest place I’ve ever lived in. I miss the sun, can’t wait ’til the summer

  7. Kevin replied:

    Which crazy Jackson had the Millipede or Centipede or Creep-Me-The-Hell-Out-Every-Time-That-Video-Came-On song?

    Seriously. Euthanasia, people.

  8. Robert replied:

    HELL IS FOR CHILDREN!!!!

    j/k

  9. Robert replied:

    Hey wait a minute, I had millipedes as pets, for yeeears!!

  10. matty03 replied:

    Daniel – Why, thank you! Well, I think a screw may have come loose, but that was probably long ago. I just work with it! LOL!

    Pants – Yes! You must see SF! You will not want to leave, tho! At least, that is what happened to me! And, the Bose headset is at the ready for you to use.

    Dessie! As soon as I have money again — I will have to check her out!!!! Stay warm and hang in there! They would be idiots not to hire you ASAP!

    Karyn – I agree! How could one ever compare the cool factor between LaToya and Pat B!?!?!?

    Minge — I’m just a tad concerned. I never wanted to be LaToya. Janet? Sure. But, LaToya? No. But, hold on to the dream, baby! Hold on to the dream!!!!

    Kris – Oh, honey! You are such a young and innocent babe! Pat Benatar! The 80’s rock goddess for about 3 LP’s — every girl I knew wanted to be her. I know you must have heard “Hit Me With Your Best Shot” at some point! Stay warm! Yes, DC is cold. …but, trust me! Chicago and Boston are colder! And, just wait! You summer is going to be soooooo hot!!!

    Kevin — I don’t know. They are all so crazy. I’m guessing Jermaine. Just think of all the whack’d-out scandal we’d miss without the Jacksons!!!

  11. matty03 replied:

    Robert! Yes, but we are running with the shadows of the night — so everything will be alright.

    Do those creatures make good pets? Were the Jacksons on to something good? …or, wait. Was that Rufus featuring Chaka?!?!?!

  12. Kevin replied:

    It was Rebbie Jackson:

    Centipede
    Centipede

    Your love
    Is like a ragin’ fire, oh
    You’re a snake that’s on the loose
    The strike is your desire

    But when the centipede is hot
    You’re bound to feel the fire, huh
    And when the centipede is hot
    You’re bound to feel the fire

    I feel, oh, yeah
    A longin’ for your touch
    Like you crawled into the bathroom window
    To give him all your love, ho

    Like a centipede that’s hot
    The fire is in your touch
    Just like a centipede you’ve got
    A lot of lovin’ to touch

    Don’t you know in the quiet of the night
    Is when the snake is in the crawlin’
    And the moon starts to glow then disappear
    When the time is really right
    Is when the centipede is crawlin’
    You’ll be crying in the night so many tears
    And you’re crawlin’ like a centipede

    Centipede

    You came, oh
    To strike him with your touch
    Like you crawled into the bathroom window
    To bite him with your love

    Like a centipede that’s hot
    The fire is in your touch
    Just like a centipede you’ve got
    A lot of lovin’ to touch

    Don’t you know in the quiet of the night
    Is when the snake is in the crawlin’
    And the moon starts to glow then disappear
    When the time is really right
    Is when the centipede is crawlin’
    You’ll be crying in the night so many tears
    And you’re crawlin’ like a centipede

    Centipede

    In the quiet of the night
    Is when the snake is in the crawlin’
    And the moon starts to glow then disappear
    When the time is really right
    Is when the centipede is crawlin’
    You’ll be crying in the night so many tears

    In the quiet of the night
    Is when the snake is in the crawlin’
    And the moon starts to glow then disappear
    When the time is really right
    Is when the centipede is crawlin’
    You’ll be crying in the night so many tears
    And you’re crawlin’ like a centipede

    Centipede
    Centipede
    Centipede

    (Look it up on YouTube)

  13. hot lunch replied:

    you ARE a cool white boy!

    and weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee belong!!

  14. g8s replied:

    I patently refuse to believe that anyone could think Pat Benatar is uncool. Lipstick Lies, I tell you! And by the way, it was Rebbie.

  15. Robert replied:

    I think We Live For Love is just plain bitchin’!!! Anyone says “bitchn'” these days anymore? If not, then I’m gonna try to bring it back!

    Centipedes? Oh no no, they bite! Millies are way kool, they are so gentle and walk like cho-cho-trains, and they only eat veggies! heh.

  16. Meredith replied:

    Another reason to love WordPress… when you accidently try to post your comment twice because your attention span is that of a gnat and you forgot that you already hit “reply”, it tells you that you so we can all avoid double comments.
    Too bad it won’t accept New Blogger.
    Another reason to despise New Blogger. Perhaps it’s time to just end my blog and start over. I’m a fan of clean sweeps. And I’m getting tired of ranting about Blogger. As I’m sure you’re tired of hearing about it.
    ;(

  17. Meredith replied:

    But wait a second, where is my first post? WordPress, you liar.
    I apologize if there is suddenly a deluge of repetetive. Now, I forgot what I said. Something witty about my Matty being too cool for the bus.
    No, where did I put my crimping iron?

  18. Meredith replied:

    ‘repetative messages’… perhaps i need to go to bed. Trouble is every time I lay down my head feels like it’s going to explode and I cough so much I’m afraid I’ll burst an artery. I can’t wait till morning to switch to Dayquil.

  19. Dessie replied:

    Seriously Kris, a year and a half of it and it won’t seem anywhere near as cool.

    Matt, they didn’t want me. I feel so rejected 😛 Apparently I may have had trouble relating to the “creatives”. Still, there’s always plenty more fish in the sea 🙂

  20. matty03 replied:

    Kevin! I even forgot that there was a Rebbie! …So, how often a day do you listen to that song? Hmmmm… LOL!

    Hot Lunch! Thank you! And, yes! We do!

    Mr. G! Yes, I agree! And, as Kevin states — you are correct, sir!

    Robert – Oh, I do love that song! It is bitchin’! I say we start using that word all the time. Sooner or later it is bound to take off again!

    Lovely Meredith! Oh, what need have you for that crimping iron? Rest! Feel better! I only wish I were too cool for the bus! LOL! I do think you’d prefer wordpress until that get purchased by Google.

    Dessie – They are losers, but I kind of gathered that from their interview “style” — you’ll find MUCH better! I suspect this was a lucky break for you. Tho, I’m sending you a hug because I know it is frustrating. Glad you’re smiling!!!

  21. Tim replied:

    Ooh, I was thinking about Pat Benatar just the other day. You’ve inspired me to get some of her music Matty. And Matty, you are one cool white boy. Although, maybe more of a man than a boy now …..

  22. matty03 replied:

    Tim! Yay! Poor Pat! We need to bring her back and steer her away from that jazz stuff she and her husband were trying. We need Pop Pat Benatar!

    And, it was the lady who suggested I was a cool white “boy” not me.

    …tho, I live in SF where men are known to be stuck in the Peter Pan Thing. And, in the spirit of Paula Abdul I shall write, that I will be forever the boy! “Man” makes me feel all twitchy. So, I’d rather be a boy. Yes. Boy!

    …but not, Boi.

  23. Tony replied:

    Nice post Matty! The beach and some tunes, the perfect combination for some deep contemplative thought and peace of mind. All you need is to be present for the perfect sunset!

  24. matty03 replied:

    Hey Tony! Yes! I do so love to watch the sunset on the beach!!!!

  25. Alan replied:

    I love you for loving Pat Benatar. Respect!

  26. Sideon replied:

    Great blog! I found my way here via Hello Waffles (Kalvin).

    Pat Benatar still rocks. Who the hell is La Toya? 🙂

    If I don’t hear “One Love,” “Shadows in the Night,” “Outlaw Blues,” or “Love is a Battlefield” fairly regularly, nothing seems right with the world.

    Be well.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

