PIECES

I wanted to write a post today. I had a funny one in mind, but I don’t feel all that funny at the moment. I thought about writing of something sort of political, but I don’t really feel like going on a rant. I thought about writing about the absurdity of the recent sex scandal involving our mayor. Thoughts of double-edge’d swords and such as I don’t like our mayor anyway and the realization that I’d be roaming into the “political” and my roaming fees are all used up for the weekend.

I’ve got a cold. No big deal. But, colds can make you feel like shit but not so shitty that you can really claim you’re sick. However, being a Saturday I thought it best to just chill at home. This means I’ve slept about 12 hours.

I’ve had the stereo on since about 2AM and the following song was playing as I came out of my Thera-Flu-induced slumber. It struck me that the lyrics rather sum up how I’ve been feeling these past couple of weeks. I wonder if we don’t all feel this way from time to time. I suspect we do.
“Little boy lost in search of little boy found.
You go on wondering, wandering stumbling, tumbling ’round…
When will you find what’s on the tip of your mind?
Why are you blind to all you ever were?
Never were.
Really are.
Nearly are.
Little boy false in search of little boy true
Will you be ever done traveling?
Always unraveling…
You’re running away could leave you farther astray.
And, as for fishing in streams for pieces of dreams —
those pieces will never fit.
What is the sense of it?
Little boy blue, don’t let your little sheep roam.
It’s time.
Come blow your horn.
Meet them on.
Look and see.
Can you be far from home?”
M. & A. Bergman/M. LeGrand

…and, then, I figured it was time to get my ass out of bed and into the day. You’ve got to greet it, look and see. And, ya never know. Today might be more of a Captain & Tennille/ABBA/Andy Gibb kind of day than a Michele LeGrand/Edith Piaf/Judy Garland one.

At least, this is my hope.

Me, a dose of DayQuill, a Diet Coke, a chocolate something and I’m off to explore the world!! Or, the Castro at the very least! …I should be helping Ing today, but I know I would just fall down and break something important! As of this afternoon! Ing will be our neighbor! We’re going to have a slumber party tonight! Tho, I suspect she will be passed out from exhaustion and I will be passed out from some type of cold medication designed to stop my head from bursting open. Either way, we shall have fun!

February 3, 2007. Uncategorized.

13 Comments

  1. Daniel replied:

    “Nibbling on bacon, chewin on cheese
    Sammy says to susie honey, would you please be my missus?
    And she say yes
    With her kisses”

    You mentioned my favorite songwriters.

    Those photos of you are driving me wild. My God how cute you are!
    Even if your head is exploding, it’s exploding in the cutest manner possible.

  2. johnNokc replied:

    Matt — Sorry you have a code. Feel better soon. How were your beginning days at work? Good vibes?

  3. Robert replied:

    Hope you feel better soon enough Matty.

    *quack quack* 🙂

  4. sortedlives replied:

    Sorry to hear you have a cold. Get better soon!!

  5. Alan replied:

    I’d follow that song up with the entire ablum of “Butterfly.” “It’s not easy to be happy, sometimes it’s more comfortable to be sad.” Laissez les bons temps roulez.

  6. Old Cheeser replied:

    Yes hope the cold abates soon babes. But it’s the time of year I think, I am just getting over one myself and still have a bit of a lingering chesty cough. I know exactly what you mean when you feel ill but not so ill you’re completely wiped out – it’s that inbetween kind of illness that’s soooo annoying! Still glad to hear that it hasn’t prevented you from being out and about!

    And yes, some cool photos! The baby one is sooo cute. Even at an early age I can see you were a mover and a groover. Those shorts you’re wearing in the pics are outrageous!! You liked showing off your legs eh?

    How’s the new job going? Incidentally last week I heard that my current work position is probably going to be made redundant, which kind of reminds me of your situation a short while back. But you know, I actually see it as a great oppportunity…to quote you, it’s all good!!

  7. matty03 replied:

    Daniel! Awwww, I do so love the Captain & Tennille! And, I’m blushing! …except for the last picture, those are OLD! OLD! OLD! LOL!

    John – It’s just a cold — And, not even all that bad. I’m already feeling much better since I lazed about most of yesterday. And, YES! First two days at the new job were great! All those vibes and good thoughts comin’ my way really paid off! I think I am going to love the job and I already love what we do at the organization.

    Robert! Quack! LOL! Feeling much better today! And, Ing and I had fun yesterday walking about the ‘hood and looking for some home basics for her new place.

    Sorted Lives! Thank you! As long as I kept the DayQuill near by I was fine! Actually, I guess the same will be true for today. LOL!

    Alan – Ah, I love “Butterfly” …and, I think that Barbra quote is quite true! But, I love those dreamy ballads that LeGrand composed with The Bergmans! Some how the lyrics to Pieces of Dreams just touched home with me. …which they never really had before.

    Old Cheeser! Thanks! LOL! …those pictures are so old. I had been debating whether I wanted to toss them out or not. They fit in with the way I was feeling when I woke up yesterday. I don’t think I was into showing off my legs so much as that was what everyone else was wearing in Texas back then. Not that original I’m afraid! That first picture was taken in 1967. The second picture was taken in 1983, the third was taken in Galveston in 1985.It’s the glasses that make me laugh! The only “current” picture is the last one of me by the Castro Street bus stop which was taken in September of last year. I do so miss my hair.

    I am so sorry about your job!!!! It is an opportunity and you will find something waiting for you much better and more exciting. ….but the stress of it all can be consuming. I’m sending lots of love, positive thoughts your way! But, yeah, it is all good.

  8. hot lunch replied:

    Is the “Butterfly” album being discussed the Mariah Carey one? Or am I just being blasphemous now?

    I hope you are feeling better! Maybe if you put on those hot shorts in that picture, your cold will go away. And check out that old television set in the background of the baby photo! I love IT!!

  9. matty03 replied:

    Hot Lunch! No, you’re not being blasphemous (Oh, man! I just forgot how to spell that word for a second!?!!? LOL!) ….but, yes, we were discussing Bab’s infamous 1974 aural delight which was also called “Butterfly” …it has a picture of a stick of butta with a fly sitting on it for the cover. Oh, so very 70’s. It is Barbra’s least favorite LP. But, it is one of my faves. I don’t even mind the Bob Marley and David Bowie covers she performs. …but I am a bit Barbra-obsessed! LOL!

    I think I was a size 28 at the time I was wearing those 80’s shorts! I was a 29 inch waist about 6 months ago. Alas, I fear I am now destined to be a 30″ waist. …and, I don’t know where one would find shorts so short anymore!?!? …or a pair of such symetric coloring! …however, all styles return. …even if my tiny teenage wasit and full head of hair will not. I do, however, hope those glasses stay out of the fashion picture forever!!!

  10. Karyn replied:

    Love the photos, Matty, but I still love your most recent look the best. So damn cute.

    I am trying to work out what it means that we both have the same plastic duck. Goose. Poultry. Whatever it is.

    That has to mean something. Because how totally random is that?

  11. matty03 replied:

    Karyn! LOL! I think it means we are duck-related!!! And, it means a great deal!

  12. g8s replied:

    Sorry you’ve been sick, but damn hot photos, I say.

  13. matty03 replied:

    Mr G!!!! Wow! You stopped by! I’m so happy to hear from you! I’m feeling much, much better now and am almost over it!!!! …Thanks. I never thought I was at all “hot” — LOL! …so many years ago.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

