THE ONE I WANT…

I just finished up an interview. I think it went really well. I feel like it went really well. However, it is between me and another candidate whom I gather is quite skilled and talented. A manager position for a non-profit that is making a significant contribution to society. A position that would not be caught up in job titles or job profiles or stuck in an office isolated away from the individuals and environment, which is supported. This would be an active position on a team dedicated to brining “voice” to artists, children and other communities who do not easily get their chance at the mic. An organization dedicated to the promotion of media as a tool for empowerment and art. I would so love this job. I don’t know if I will get it, but I actually loved the experience of interviewing for it and meeting the people who operate and make it happen. Man, I hope I get this job. But, if I don’t I discovered a great place doing great things. And, I had fun. So, no matter — it was a great day! …Some ONE — be it me or the other person is in for an adventure! My fingers are crossed!

January 24, 2007. Uncategorized.

15 Comments

  1. hot lunch replied:

    good luck!! we’re all rootin’ for ya!

  2. Kalvin replied:

    *crossed fingers*

  3. matty03 replied:

    Hot Lunch! Thank you, cutie! We shall see!!! I’m being very Zen about it. Or, trying at least.

    Kalvin — Thank you!!!!!

  4. ing replied:

    Add me to the crossed fingers group. You are the best candidate. I believe this.

  5. sortedlives replied:

    I am so happy for you. If they know what is right for them, they will offer you a fab-boo package. I will keep my fingers crossed and a candle lit.

  6. Minge replied:

    Everything is crossed here.

  7. Karyn replied:

    They’d be lucky to have you, Matty.

    Sending the best possible vibes and pixie dust (not to be confused with pixy stix, lol) and all manner of employable goodness your way – also sending a giant CLUE to the employer that they couldn’t do better than you –

    Mwah!

  8. matty03 replied:

    Ing – You’ve been added!!! Keep ’em crossed tightly!!!

    Sorted Lives! Thanks, babe! I hope you’re right!

    Minge! You rock!

    Karyn! Oh, the pixie dust is a great add!

    Kids! Thank you!!!

  9. Kevin replied:

    Sounds like a great place. Here’s to hoping you get it. But even if you don’t perhaps you could still volunteer in your spare time (once you find a job).

    But more importantly … what did you WEAR?

  10. matty03 replied:

    Kevin – I’m basically waiting on pins and needles for the call!!! I think they are more of an intern place vs. volunteer organization. I could be wrong, tho.

    Oh, and I went with the black Diesel shoes, the jeans, no belt, untucked button down powder blue long sleeve shirt and my way-cool Calvin Klein black velvet sport coat.

    I just put up a picture! …and when I drop these silly 8 pounds I will pose in the clothes again! …except I can be back in my 29″ jeans! …and not these 30″ ones!

  11. Daniel replied:

    Hey LoveBug,
    You had to be the best, just cuz you’re you.
    And as long as you didn’t bring that knife thingy to the interview.
    And remembered to smile at them.

    29″ jeans? Sweety, my thighs are 25″. That’s each one. Not together.
    I’m not kidding, I measured them.
    But my mother always told me I was big boned.
    Oh my…
    I’m rather concerned now.

  12. matty03 replied:

    Daniel! I did! I smiled! Actually, I smile a lot. And, I never carry knives or implements of danger!!!

    Anyway, you are fine!!!!!

    The thing is I am small framed. I am 5’8″ and have always worn a small and up until the mid 90’s I wore a 28″ waist. …so, a little bit of weight is just more than I should have. …also, keep in mind that while I am a bit on the hyper side and always runnig about — I do not excercise. So….

    But, I guess none of us see ourselves the way other do. Mirrors lie to us.

  13. Kevin replied:

    29″? ugh … I’m 5’10” and was always the fat kid (I wore XL shirts to hide the fat) but got down to a 31″ waist and almost always wear small shirts now (although after the holidays I’m up to my 32s again). Damn skinny people. 😉

  14. matty03 replied:

    Kevin – I think for 5’10” — 31″/32″ is right! We can see your thin in your pictures!

  15. Old Cheeser replied:

    Great to hear that the interview was such a positive experience and to hear you sounding so positive about it!! I too hope you get it!! You know what they say, things happen for a reason and if you’re meant to get the job, you will! When do you hear the outcome?

    5 foot 8 and a 29 inch waist?! My goodness! I am exactly the same height as you and consider it good if I can fit into a 32 inch pair of trousers! You are one skinny dude!! Still the main thing is being happy with how you are. Each to their own.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

